It’s Been Swell…

But the swelling’s gone down.

This post has taken me a over month to write, and it’s still not right. In March I was offered a job, I had been looking for a year. The Hellions are so grown up now, The Clone is in high school and Geek Girl is more independent that most adults, it was time.

So I got me a job, I started on the 1st of April (I did check if it was a joke). I started out on 25 hours a week, but took to it so well I have been bumped to 39. I enjoy the job, the hours are quite flexible so I can fit in with Crochet Widower’s job with a little help from Geek Girl’s school’s link club and The Clone being responsible enough to be alone for an hour or so.

When I was offered the job I was, quite frankly, terrified. I don’t like change, and this was a big change, new routine, new people, new household roles. Crochet Widower does most school runs now and a lot more of the housework than we are used to. But I have settled in and am enjoying going to work, The Hellions are taking a little longer to adjust but they are getting there.

This has lead to a vast reduction in my crochet time, I wanted to wait until I had finished the granny square blanket I started before even interviewing for my job so I had a pretty picture for you, but with the stress of change and hours working I have only joined two rows.

And this is the problem.

I have two crochet choices

Use all of my free time designing

Or

Just crochet for me.

The choice is actually easy. Just crochet for me, but, what do I do with Itchy Crochet???

This decision has taken a long time to come to, it was a hard decision to make but I think I have made the right one….

… I will be shutting Itchy Crochet down, over the next couple of weeks I will close down the Facebook page and Twitter, Etsy and PayHip, I will leave Ravelry as it is but won’t be checking in as often, Instagram will be used for my personal projects and I will still be contactable at the Itchy Crochet email address. But, for the most part I am looking after me.

I have loved my time as Itchy but is my time to shine as Amanda…

…Colleague in training.

So long, and thanks for all the fish.

4 thoughts on “It’s Been Swell…

  1. Well…… of course I wish you nothing but the best! However I will miss seeing your posts and hearing about your family life and crochet. Enjoy your new roles. It’s always a good thing to mix things up a bit. And, who can’t use more financial help these days especially with kids growing up. Mine are no longer home and I miss those days so try not to let them slip by without noticing!! Best of everything to you and your family. A HUGE thanks too for introducing me to Mr. Minchin. I never thought I would laugh like that again. It’s helped me, a LOT!
    Be well, stay safe and thanks.
    Doris

    Like

Leave a comment